2011 Goals

Like many people I’m pondering & deciding on my 2011 goals. I’ve recently discovered the joys &  tribulations of marathon training & running. I ran in the Crystal Lake 1/2 Marathon, the NW 10 mile trail race, the Schaumburg 1/2 Marathon & the Chicago Marathon. All 4 races were exciting and different. The Chicago Marathon was wonderfully difficult. I twisted my knee at 10 miles when a spectator ran in front of me. I threw-up & had the dry heaves between miles 15 – 20. My time was a very disappointing 5:51:56. However, it was my 1st marathon & I wouldn’t change anything.

After the 2010 Chicago Marathon. I am exhausted

My goals for 2011 are:

  • Memorize the book of Philippians
  • Learn & train using Crossfit & Crossfit Endurance (CFE) principles.
  • (Note: I’m running the Rockford Marathon in May 2011 & I’m training for this marathon exclusively using CFE methods.)
  • Run the 2011 Chicago Marathon in less than 4 hours.
  • Memorize the book of Ephesians
  • Weigh 200 lbs by 6/1/2011
  • Weigh 180 lbs by 10/9/2011 (The
    date of the Chicago Marathon.

Read the following books:

  • The Father Connection by Josh McDowell
  • The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt by Edmund Morris
  • City of Man by Michael Gerson
  • American Rust by Philipp Meyer
  • The God Who is There by D.A. Carson
  • Politics – According to the Bible by Wayne Grudem
  • Evolution of the Human Soul and the future of life scientifically demonstrated by N.C. Anderson
  • Love lies bleeding by Don Delillo
  • Saving Leonardo by Nancy Pearcy
  • The Road to Serfdom by F.A. Hayek
  • Moral Courage by Rushworth M. Kidder
  • The Language of God by Francis Collins
  • ChiRunning by Danny & Katherine Dreyer
  • Leadership and Crisis by Bobby Jindal
  • Shift by Peter Arnell
  • Life with God by Richard Foster
  • The Immortal life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  • Gates of Fire by Steven Pressfield
  • Ethics for a Brave New World, 2nd Edition by John & Paul Feinberg
  • Titan by Ron Chernow
  • Act and Being by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

That is several books. I am a voracious reader. I consume knowledge and love to learn

Leave a Reply

